#### 2009 MEMBERSHIP APPLICATION

I hereby apply for 2009 membership of the Accompanists' Guild of S.A. as (tick one category):

Ordinary Member \$60

Student \$20

Concession/Associate/Country \$30

Life Member \$600

Cheque/money order payable to: Accompanists' Guild of S.A. Inc.

Name (Prof/Dr/Mr/Mrs/Miss/Ms)

Addres	ss _		
		P/C_	
Email			
Phone	(H)		
(M)			
( W.)			

Please return to: The Secretary Accompanists'Guild of S.A.Inc. 9 Prosser Avenue Norwood SA 5067 Ph: (08) 8431 6030

#### REGULATIONS

- 1. The Competitor must be a Member of the Guild. (See Membership Application)
- 2. The judges reserve the right to withhold the Award if the majority of judges deem no competitor worthy of the Award.
- 3. First Prize \$3000. The Second Prize will be \$600. The Third Prize will be \$400.
- 4. The judges' decision will be final and no correspondence shall be entered into with any entrant or with any other person.
- The A.G.S.A. shall have the right to withhold payment of any royalty or fee to any entrant.
- 6. The A.G.S.A. shall reserve the right to record, televise, photograph, film or tape any entrant's performance in all stages of the competition.
- 7. The Committee of the Guild shall decide the order of performance.
- 8. The competition is open to all pianists, without age limit.
- 9. The competitors are responsible for providing their own singers and instrumentalists and are not to perform using photocopied scores. The Guild will provide the soloist for the set work.
- 10. Previous winners may enter the Award again, once only and not in the year following their win.

Applications should reach the A.G.S.A. Secretary by
Friday June 12, 2009.

AGSA reserves the right to alter dates, venues or personnel as necessary



in association with the
Elder Conservatorium
The University of Adelaide

# 2009 GEOFFREY PARSONS AWARD



\$4000

1st \$3000 2nd \$600 3rd \$400

Hartley Concert Room Elder Conservatorium

AUDITIONS

Monday & Tuesday July 6 & 7

from 3.00 pm

Jury: Rodney Smith

Frances Wood, Natsuko Yoshimoto

FINAL
Thursday July 9 at 7.00pm
Jury: Leslie Howard,
Rodney Smith, Frances Wood
Hartley Concert Room

### AUDITIONS

Auditions begin on **Monday July 6** at the Elder Conservatorium. Applicant's Proposed Final Program and Biography must be presented to the Audition Panel.

#### Audition Content

# 1. Prepared Items (approx. 10 mins)

The competitor should present two contrasting works by different composers for piano and voice or piano and instrument(s).

Guidelines for choice of works:

- suitable for recital;
- demonstrate advanced technical, ensemble and interpretative skills;
- Single movements are acceptable;
- written for keyboard no transcriptions;
- one chamber music item is acceptable (3 or more musicians).

# 2. Set work - Rehearsal (app.10 mins)

To briefly discuss, then perform with minimal interruption, the set work-Debussy: Violin Sonata, Movement 1, Allegro vivo- with the soloist, Natsuko Yoshimoto (violin), Concertmaster of the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra. The competitor should carefully consider the soloist's requirements. The set work must be included in the Final.

(A short rehearsal with Natsuko Yoshimoto will be arranged for finalists in the morning of July 9.)

# 3. Sight Reading (app. 5 mins)

The competitor will have approximately two minutes to study one or two works of moderate to difficult standard, and will then accompany Natsuko in a performance.

# NOTIFICATION OF FINALISTS

Three Finalists will be notified by phone on Tuesday July 7. Written details of each finalist's program and biography must be forwarded to cmwain@gmail.com no later than 10 am on Wednesday July 8

# THE FINAL Thursday July 9 at 7 pm Hartley Concert Room Elder Conservatorium

### Content for Final:

- 25 to 30 mins playing time of broadcast standard
- Minimum of two works by different composers, plus the set work;
- May include works from the audition
- Up to 10 minutes may be either chamber music or orchestral reduction.

# The Judges will consider:

- Choice of program & associates
- Level of difficulty
- Technical, ensemble and interpretative command
- General presentation
- Overall impression

#### Previous Award Winners:

1984	Bernard Depasquale	1985	Jillianne Bartsch
1986	Jennifer Campbell	1987	Kaye Fitton
1989	Julie Sargeant	1990	Rosemary Robinson
1991	Michael Seifried	1992	Jamie Cock
1993	Inna Fursa		
1994	Josephine Gillespie	e & N∈	erissa Pearce
1995	Esther Mae Wong	1996	Nerissa Pearce
1997	Cheryl West	1998	Leigh Harrold
1999	Alexander Hanysz	2000	Leigh Harrold
2001	Irina Lioubimova	2003	Ashley Hribar
2004	Michael Ierace	2005	Yuh T'sun Wu
2006	Anthony Hunt	2007	Amir Farid
2008	Amanda Hodder		

# GEOFFREY PARSONS AWARD ENTRY FORM

Name					
Address					
Post Code					
Email					
Telephone (H)					
(M)					
/ Tai \					
(W)					

#### MEMBERSHIP STATUS

See 2009 Membership Application

Ordinary/Student/Concession/Life

Closing Date: Friday June 12, 2009

Please forward entries to: The Secretary, A.G.S.A. 9 Prosser Avenue NORWOOD SA 5067

Enquiries: Secretary (08) 8431 6030 acquildsa@museco.id.au

Publicist 0438 829 728 cmwain@gmail.com

www.accompanist.org.au