On July 9, the Final of the Accompanists’ Guild of SA’s Geoffrey Parsons Award, named in honour of Australia’s greatest accompanist, took place in the Hartley Concert Room at The Elder Conservatorium of Music, University of Adelaide. The Award has become a centerpiece of the annual Festival of Accompanists.

In announcing the winners, Leslie Howard, a Trustee of the Geoffrey Parsons Trust in London remarked ‘I’m sure Geoffrey Parsons would have been impressed that such a competition in his name exists in Adelaide South Australia. It was a pleasure to see some adventurous repertoire choices and such thorough preparation. It was typical of the spirit in which Geoffrey assisted young musicians that we had the very generous participation of such a distinguished artist as Natsuko Yoshimoto with whom all finalists rehearsed and performed.’

The 2009 winners were:
FIRST PRIZE ($3,000) Mark Sandon (Gilberton, SA)
SECOND PRIZE ($600) Chris Lian-Lloyd (Paradise, SA)
THIRD PRIZE ($400) Janice Jialuo Tan (Windsor Gardens, SA)

Click here to download the full media release.

For further information, interviews and pics, please ring Chris
Wainwright 0438 829 728, cmwain@gmail.com

Chris Wainwright

2009 Geoffrey Parsons Award Winner Announced