Download this Media Release here

Accompanists’ Guild of SA Media Release Adelaide:
Saturday 29 September 2012
for immediate release


Earlier this evening (29 September), the Final of Australia’s most lucrative and prestigious award for the collaborative pianist the Accompanists’ Guild of SA’s 28th Geoffrey Parsons Award, took place in Adelaide at the Elder Conservatorium of Music, The University of Adelaide.

In keeping with the Guild’s acknowledgement of the professional aspirations of their competitors, the cash-pool is a significant $6,000, made possible due to the generous support of The Royal Commonwealth Society.

Geoffrey Parsons was an internationally acclaimed Australian accompanist particularly for singers. He regularly accompanied, Elizabeth Schwarzkopf, Victoria de los Angeles, Dame Janet Baker, Olaf Bär, and Barbara Bonney,

The three Finalists competed for a cash pool of $6,000. They were selected from auditions earlier this week which included a performance of prepared works with their chosen associates, sight reading and a first rehearsal of the set work, Scherzo Capriccioso by Austrian composer, Alfred Uhl, with leading Adelaide clarinetist, Peter Handsworth.

The Final was judged by a panel, chaired by the Guild’s Pianist in Residence for the 2012 Festival of Accompanists, Timothy Young. He was joined by leading SA musicians and educators, Associate Professor Elizabeth Koch OAM and Julie Sargeant.

As well as performing the set-work with Peter Handsworth, each finalist presented works of their own choice which demanded great technical, interpretative and ensemble skills, including: Schubert’s Der Mussensohn and Barber’s Hermit Songs with mezzo-soprano, Guila Tiver; Liebermann’s Sonata for flute piano with flautist, James Kortum; and Rebecca Clarke’s Viola Sonata with Keith Crellin OAM.

In announcing the winners Chairman of the Jury, Timothy Young said, “Tonight’s Geoffrey Parsons Award was absolutely stunning – all three competitors gave performances of the highest level. This competition allows one to witness the skills required of the collaborative pianist, which is such an important and rewarding career. All three competitors were distinguished in their own right”

The 2012 winners are:

  • FIRST PRIZE ($5,000)   Yuh Tsun Wu,    Adelaide, SA

  • SECOND PRIZE ($600)  Penelope Cashman,   Adelaide, SA

  • THIRD PRIZE ($400)  Patrick Keith,   Sydney, NSW

2012 Geoffrey Parsons Award Prizewinner, Yuh Tsun Wu performed with Keith Crellin OAM, founding violist of the Australian String Quartet, Rebecca Clarke’s Sonata for Viola and Piano and Hindemith’s Sonata for Viola and Piano. Yuh Tsun Wu is a 1st class honours graduate from the University of Adelaide’s Elder Conservatorium of Music. Since graduating she has studied in Canada. In 2008 she was a finalist in the ABC Young Performer of the Year Award and Chamber Music Australia’s Pan-Pacific Chamber Music Competition with her piano trio, Disco Vienna. She has regularly been broadcast on ABC Classic FM and performed with her cousins, the internationally acclaimed cello twins, Pei-Jee and Pei-Sian Ng.


MEDIA ENQUIRIES Christopher Wainwright 0438 829 728,
The 2012 Festival of Accompanists is proudly supported by:
Arts SA, The University of Adelaide, Marigaux Paris, Richard Craig, The Royal Commonwealth Society and numerous private donors.

2012 Geoffrey Parsons Award WINNERS ANNOUNCED
Tagged on: